The Henderson’s – “Ordinary People”

Since my 1st post on introducing myself and my blog I’ve been brainstorming on what to post next! Often when tidying up my home I listen to my NEO Soul station on Pandora (Note: I said tidying not cleaning lol). My husband came home for lunch and then John Legend “Ordinary People” came on. I smiled and said thats it! I should talk about our marriage first!

Photo Credit: Mike Newman of http://shanemichaelphoto.com/

Photo Credit: Mike Newman of http://shanemichaelphoto.com/

Anytime we hear this song we drift back into time, about 10 years ago, when Ryan and I were courting! John Legend just hit the scene and the song Ordinary people was a hit! His first album is the one that Ryan and I repeatedly played as our friendship and love grew! Often reminiscing on long ago memories helps you to move on from certain situations that aren’t really important. It helps you to remember how it all began!

This September will be our 5th year of marriage and we’re still going strong. Lately, I’ve been feeling like we’re back in the newlywed phase or on an extended 2nd Honeymoon. Perhaps in bliss? lol True, we may have our ups and downs but through each year we’ve excelled in choosing our battles, listening to each other, communicating how we feel and most importantly learning to keep God as our head! Simply “Ordinary People”!

Marriage Tip: We often tell young adults don’t get married until you’re ready! They always laugh when we say that but we are serious! It’s not easy because you have to be selfless! A spinet from this article  on “Focus on the Family” explains it perfectly “Selflessness is not a marriage strategy but a heart transformation in Christ … The point is to value your spouse so much that his or her best really is your goal.” Knowing this before marriage can save a lot of people from divorce! Focus on the Family is great by the way! I listen to it on the way home from work on NIV970 am.

What are your thoughts on being selfless in a marriage? Please Comment below!

Devin

Leave a Reply

